Teacher of the Year Award

Teacher of the Year Award

Help us Nominate a Teacher of the Year Candidate from Eastern Section
Help us find those dedicated, innovative, and creative Natural Resources and Earth Science educators that deserve recognition for all that they do. The requirements are simple: Three years full-time teaching experience and currently teaches at a U.S. K-12 school, one unit per year on natural resources, unit fits definition of natural resources, and location within states under the Eastern Section – AAPG umbrella.

Nominations can be forwarded to Donna Willette, dcwillet@Illinois.edu TOTY Coordinator ESAAPG. Once a teacher is nominated, the TOTY ESAAPG Coordinator will contact the educator and guide them through the process of submitting online at the AAPG Teacher of the Year website. More information on the documents required and the process can be found on the website: Teacher of the Year.

Deadline for submission is January 15, 2018. The winning finalist for our section receives $2500, and all others who successfully apply receive $100 each. A review committee of ESAAPG members will decide the finalist to represent our section. Our Eastern Section nominee then has the opportunity to compete for the national award.

After final nominations are decided by each section representing AAPG, the National TOTY Committee convenes to pick the final winner of the Teacher of the Year Award by February 15. The Award winner receives a $3000 personal cash award and a $3000 cash award for the winner’s school, plus an expense paid trip to the next AAPG Annual Meeting to receive the award. The runnerup section finalists each receive an honorable mention and a $500 cash award for their nomination.


Read More

WE NEED YOUR HELP – These awards are a significant monetary cash award for K-12 schools in which funding for Natural Resources and Earth Sciences education has been slashed over the years due to budgetary constraints. These dedicated teachers deserve our support!

In past years there have now been four Eastern Section finalists who went on to become AAPG’s Teacher of the Year

  • 2016 – Karen Waterbury, a 4th grade teacher at St. Mary’s School, Mt. Carmel Illinois
  • 2014 – Heather McArdle, a geosciences teacher from Mahopac High School in Ossining, New York
  • 2013 – Chris Bolhuis, a ninth grade earth science teacher at Hudsonville Freshman Campus in Hudsonville, Michigan
  • 2002 – Kevin Leineweber a high school earth sciences teacher at McCutcheon High School in of Lafayette, Ind.